Thursday August 15

13.00 Varbergs Teater


Nurturing young talent is very much much a part of Change festival’s vision and each edition we present a concert with some of the most gifted Swedish musicians. Violinist Victoria Stjerna has been recognised as a recipient of the Guido Vecchi scholarship and the Jan Wallander prize and is already building a varied career as soloist and chamber musician.

She is joined in this recital by the wonderful pianist Emma Johansson.  
Victoria will also perform in other concerts during the festival.

50 minutes  Tickets 


Victoria Stjerna – violin
Emma Johansson – piano                                                                                                                                                                     


Amanda Maier-Röntgen                                             6 pieces for Violin and Piano
Ceéar Franck                                                                      Violin Sonata

In cooperation with Varbergs Konsertförening 

14.00 Kulturhuset Fyren in Kungsbacka


Get into the festival atmoshere with these extraordinary artists – a small teaser for the evening’s Opening Concert. Jazz sounds och popping moves with Magnus Lindgren and Ida Inxi Holmlund. 

20 minutes – No entrance fee  


Magnus Lindgren – Clarinet/Flute
Ida Inxi Holmlund – Dance
Kungsbacka Kulturskolas Clarinet Ensemble with Magnus Nilsson

19.00 Kungsbacka Teater

Opening Concert – THE CREATION

We open the festival as we mean to continue – a concert filled with music that is in some way ‘iconic’.  

We start at the beginning with Darius Milhaud’s La Creation du Monde. This piece encapsulates everything that Change represents – Milhaud’s music fuses classical, jazz and folk, it draws on history and literature for inspiration and the original ballet was danced by the Ballet Suédois in Paris. We perform this signature score with our very own choreography from the ground-breaking young dancer Ida Inxi Holmlund. This flavour of jazz is followed through via Poulenc and Stravinsky to the music and artistry of Magnus Lindgren, one of Sweden’s foremost jazz exponents. Bach, Barber, Jolas and Reich complete this unforgettable evening of music. 

120 minutes including interval  Tickets 


Ida Inxi Holmlund – dance
Magnus Lindgren – clarinet/flute
Simon Crawford-Phillips – piano
Jesper Svedberg – cello
Stockholm Syndrome Ensemble
Rhythm Art Duo
Change Festival Soloists                                          


Darius Milhaud                                                                Creation du Monde
Samuel Barber                                                                 Adagio
Betsy Jolas                                                                         Quatres pièces en marge
Francis Poulenc                                                              Clarinet Sonata
Igor Stravinsky                                                                Ragtime 


 Steve Reich                                                                       Clapping Music
Johann Sebastian Bach                                               Brandenburg Concerto no 3
Magnus Lindgren                                                           Black River (Clarinet Consert)
Magnus Lindgren                                                           Stockholm Underground